EACS Young Scholar Award 2016

Deadline: 15th Jan 2016

The Board of the European Association for Chinese Studies is pleased to announce again the EACS Young Scholar Award (YSA). The purpose of this award is to encourage research in Chinese studies among young scholars, especially, but not exclusively, scholars studying and working at European institutions.

The Young Scholar Award is made possible through generous support by the Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation for International Scholarly Exchange. It was first awarded during the 2004 biennial conference in Heidelberg. Almost all papers submitted by shortlisted candidates in previous competitions have now appeared as peer-reviewed publications. The next YSA will be announced at the XXI biennial conference in St. Petersburg, Russia, in August 2016.



Candidates for the YSA should be 35 years of age or below (2016 YSA candidates must have been born in 1981 or later) AND their rank of academic employment should be below that of Associate Professor or Senior Lecturer or the equivalent ranks in other systems. The jury welcomes papers of high scholarly promise engaging primary sources, secondary scholarship, and innovative research methodologies relevant to the field. Papers should be written in English; only single-authored papers will be accepted. Papers should preferably be unpublished; however, candidates may submit papers that are under review for publication in a scholarly journal at the time of the 2016 St. Petersburg conference. Each applicant may submit only one paper of a maximum of 8500 words(approximately 50,000 characters), with a one-page abstract. The word limit includes footnotes but not bibliography. The submission should include the author’s full name, institution, and address on a separate page. The author’s name and other self-references should be removed in the main paper as the manuscript will be assessed anonymously.

The YSA jury hopes to nominate 3 finalists who will be invited to attend the 2016 EACS conference where their papers will be presented during a special session. The three finalists will each be awarded 1,000 Euros after their presentation. The winner of the YSA will be announced during the conference
and honoured with the award of a certificate. Candidates submitting papers for the Young Scholar Award should be registered as EACS members. Please provide your EACS membership number when making the submission.



The deadline for submission is 17:00 CET on 15 January 2016. Proof of age and rank should be provided at the time of submission. Only complete and timely submitted applications will be considered. The three finalists will be notified in May 2016.

Please send papers and abstracts by e-mail (in word format) to eacs2016ysa@gmail.com AND in hard-copy to the EACS Secretary-General Dr Tian Yuan Tan, Department of the Languages and Cultures of China and Inner Asia, SOAS, University of London, Thornhaugh Street, Russell Square, London WC1H 0XG, United Kingdom. Applicants who encounter difficulties in mailing the hard copy of their work should contact the above mentioned email address.

We very much hope you will consider submitting your work!


Download this announcement as PDF…

Leave a Comment