Deadline Extended: EACS Young Scholar Award 2024 (YSA)

Deadline: 15th Apr 2024

The Board of the European Association for Chinese Studies is pleased to announce again the EACS Young Scholar Award (YSA). The purpose of this award is to encourage research in Chinese studies among young scholars, especially, but not exclusively, scholars studying and working at European institutions.

The Young Scholar Award is made possible through the generous support by the Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation for International Scholarly Exchange. It was first awarded during the 2004 EACS biennial conference in Heidelberg. Many papers submitted by shortlisted candidates in previous competitions have now appeared as peer-reviewed publications. The next YSA will be announced at the 25th biennial conference in Tallinn, Estonia, 27-30 August 2024.


Candidates for the YSA should be 35 years of age or below (2022 YSA candidates must have been born in 1988 or later) AND their rank of academic employment should be below that of Associate Professor or Senior Lecturer, or the equivalent ranks in other systems. YSA candidates must be registered as EACS members at the time of paper submission.

The jury welcomes papers of high scholarly promise engaging primary sources, secondary scholarship, and innovative research methodologies relevant to the field. Papers should be written in English; only single-authored papers will be accepted. Papers should not have been previously submitted for publication.

Each applicant may submit only one paper of a maximum of 8500 words (approximately 50,000 characters), with a one-page abstract. The word limit includes footnotes but not bibliography. The submission should include the author’s full name, institution, email and postal address on a separate page. The author’s name and any other self-references should be removed in the main body of the paper as the manuscript will be assessed anonymously.

The YSA jury nominates 3 finalists who are expected to attend the 2024 EACS conference in Tallinn in person. The three nominees receive a reimbursement of up to 800 Euros to cover their travel and accommodation expenses. At the conference, the finalists are presenting their papers during a special dedicated session. The winner of the YSA is announced during the conference. All three finalists receive a certificate and the winner is, in addition, awarded a prize of 500 Euros. All finalists agree to commit themselves to participate in the conference and deliver their paper in person, as well as to submit their revised papers for publication in the Journal of the European Association for Chinese Studies (JEACS).


The deadline for submission is 17:00 CET on 15 April 2024. Please send the following material by e-mail to before the deadline:
(1) Paper and abstract (PDF format)
(2) Proof of age and rank
(3) EACS membership number

Only complete and timely submitted applications will be considered. The three finalists will be notified around May 2024.

Please remember to anonymize your paper. Please pay attention to the PDF format, otherwise author information can be extracted from it. Usually, this is done in Word before the PDF is created, using the function Tools > Protect Document > Remove Personal Information.

We very much hope you will consider submitting your work!

Download this announcement as PDF: