EACS Young Scholar Award (YSA)

Deadline: 15th Jan 2020

The Board of the European Association for Chinese Studies is pleased to announce again the EACS Young Scholar Award (YSA). The purpose of this award is to encourage research in Chinese studies among young scholars, especially, but not exclusively, scholars studying and working at European institutions.
The Young Scholar Award is made possible through generous support by the Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation for International Scholarly Exchange. It was first awarded during the 2004 biennial conference in Heidelberg. Many papers submitted by shortlisted candidates in previous competitions have now appeared as peer-reviewed publications. The next YSA will be announced at the XXII biennial conference in Leipzig, Germany, in August 2020.


Candidates for the YSA should be 35 years of age or below (2020 YSA candidates must have been born in 1985 or later) AND their rank of academic employment should be below that of Associate Professor or Senior Lecturer or the equivalent ranks in other systems. YSA candidates must be registered as EACS members at the time of paper submission.

The jury welcomes papers of high scholarly promise engaging primary sources, secondary scholarship, and innovative research methodologies relevant to the field. Papers should be written in English; only single-authored papers will be accepted. Papers should preferably be unpublished; however, candidates may submit papers that are under review for publication in a scholarly journal at the time of the 2020 Leipzig conference. Each applicant may submit only one paper of a maximum of 8500 words (approximately 50,000 characters), with a one-page abstract. The word limit includes footnotes but not bibliography. The submission should include the author’s full name, institution, and address on a separate page. The author’s name and other self-references should be removed in the main paper as the manuscript will be assessed anonymously.

The YSA jury hopes to nominate 3 finalists who will be invited to attend the 2020 EACS conference where their papers will be presented during a special session. The three finalists will each be awarded 1,000 Euros after their presentation. The winner of the YSA will be announced during the conference and honoured with the award of a certificate.


The deadline for submission is 17:00 CET on 15 January 2020. Please send the following material by e-mail to eacs2020ysa@gmail.com before the deadline:
(1) Paper and abstract (PDF format)
(2) Proof of age and rank
(3) EACS membership number

Only complete and timely submitted applications will be considered. The three finalists will be notified around May 2020. We very much hope you will consider submitting your work!

Please remember to anonymize your paper. Please pay attention to the PDF format, otherwise author information can be extracted from it. Usually, this is done in Word before the PDF is created, using the function Tools > Protect Document > Remove Personal Information.

Download this announcement as .docx: EACS Young Scholar Award 2020 Announcement